The Aether Series

After many tests in the studio I have made a magnetic cup that repels itself and is at the same time tethered to itself with a minimum of three steel cables. This then gives me a levitation with a mechanical restraint, or pseudo levitation. This means that I can create a floating composition.

Perhaps if I don’t get to graduate school this year then I will submit this series. I believe it to be the best single object that I can make. Imagine a cup that scares you because it is familiar and yet completely strange at the same time. Usable and Poetic. It broke my heart the first time I saw it complete, the reason being that it opened up a world of symbols and new compositions.

The best that I can make is but a dream, it is a piece of art that produces electricity through volunteerism from the audience. The electricity then is used to power the cafe where I will be making nice coffees or teas served with baked goods. I will then record the amount of energy each item in the cafe to show the audience that we all need each other to be happy.
One fear that I have is this:
MAY THE CERAMIC WORLD NOT ABANDON FUNCTION IN PURSUIT OF VALIDATION FROM THE ART WORLD. OR ELSE I WILL FIGHT IT, AND I WILL WIN, SOCIETY IS BUILT ON FUNCTION AND AS LONG AS THERE IS SOCIETY I WILL HAVE THE UPPER HAND. YOU’VE BEEN WARNED ART WORLD.

Leave a Reply

